Storm In A B-Cup

A Scary Word

on April 16, 2013

What is a word that is scary to you?  For me, that word is “woman”.  I suppose it isn’t the word itself that scares me.  It’s the connotations.  I don’t mind using the word, as long as it isn’t in reference to me.  I’m fine with “girl”, or even “lady”.  But “woman”? Nuh-uh.  Don’t go there. I can’t face it, it feels too weird.  I don’t have a problem with the idea of being an adult.  I am married, I have a job, I am studying for a degree to get an even more “grown up” job.  I pay the bills.  I buy the groceries.  I do all those grown up things.  So why is it so strange for me to associate myself with the word “woman”?

I can’t answer that question.  All I know is it feels strange and wrong.  Not in the same way as signing my new married name, or being called “Mrs” feels weird – that’s a good kind of weird.  But being referred to as a woman, or even calling myself a woman, just isn’t right.  You might say at age 23, I have a long time to get used to it.  And you might be right.  But for now, don’t ever call me a woman.  Call me a lady, a girl, a broad for all I care.  Just not that word…it gives me the creeps 😀

Leave a Reply

