Storm In A B-Cup

Weight Loss (or not)

on April 22, 2013

I need to lose weight.  There.  I said it.  It’s out there.  It doesn’t seem to matter how much I say it though, it just doesn’t seem to happen, no matter how hard I try.  I know that I have a bunch of other factors at play, all stemming from hormonal issues (probably more on that later), but it seems like I just can’t shift this weight.  Since I started dating T, my now husband, I have been putting on weight at what appears to be an alarming rate.  I weighed 60kg (or about 132lb), which I was really happy with when we started dating.  I was 19.  Now, at nearly-24, I weigh about 90kg – that is ALARMINGLY close to 200lb.  I am not happy.  I can’t move as easily as I could – I was a dancer then.  I exercise, and end up just hurting myself.

I went to the gym religiously, for at least an hour 6 days a week, and ate very very well.  I went with T and some friends of ours.  They all got fitter and healthier and lost weight.  I stayed the same.  I even appeared to gain weight.  I don’t know what is wrong with me, but I ended up getting frustrated, and no longer go to the gym (I also can’t afford the membership right now!).

None of my clothes fit.  I have gone from an AU size 8-10 to an AU size 14-16.  That translates to about a US 4-6 to a US-12-14, I think.  I am not happy and I don’t know what to do any more.  It feels like eating healthy is more expensive, to the point where we can’t afford it, and we don’t really have a kitchen.  I know I should go to the extra effort to find cheap, healthy ways to eat without needing a real kitchen but I just feel like I don’t have the energy. I’ve lost my fight.  I’ve lost my drive.  I know I have to do something, but I don’t know what to do when nothing seems to work any more.

Any suggestions or help out there? I need something.  Anything.

 

3 responses to “Weight Loss (or not)

  1. Morgan says:

    I am sorry you have been struggling! Weight loss is hard, i know thay to well! My first suggestion, dont get descouraged. It is a process and it honest may take time! I too have no real kitchen, i use an electric fry pan and a toaster oven for all my cooking. So i feel your pain! When you exercise try to be.in the fat burning zone for long period of time… Say 1 hour of quick walking, try getting.to.thay point.where you are warm and sweating but still talk normally. Couple that with stdength training for 30min or so 2-3 times a week. You dont need a gym for.either, there are plenty of body weight.exercises that will.work.well. For food try high fiber, low sodium, and drink lots of water. Does this sound kind of like the plan before? I am currently trying to lose weight too, i had success with weight watchers in the past, but a not totally ready for thay commitment this time around. Lol so for food that is basically my plan, fiber and water good, sodium bad. Sorry for all the typos…. Cell phone commenting!

    • Morgan says:

      And fruits and veggies! I swear i eat like a hunter and gather. Lol

    • nat says:

      I just feel like nothing works, but perhaps I’m not trying hard enough. This does sound a lot like the plan I was on before, I think I’ll try again now that I have the medication I didn’t have then. As the doctor keeps telling me, it will be harder because I have PCOS + insulin resistance etc. Harder but not impossible. Thankyou so much for your comment, it’s nice to feel like I’m not the only one, and like there’s support out there!!

Leave a Reply

