Storm In A B-Cup

Daily Post Prompt: Second Time Around

on April 25, 2013

I love reading.  I always have, and I think I always will.  There is no book I will not read – probably twice at least! Today’s daily post prompt asks for a post written about a book that you can read again and again, and what it is about that book that speaks to you.  For me, that’s almost an impossible task, I read and re-read almost everything.  But I have it narrowed down to two series.  I know, it’s more than the prompt asks for but I just couldn’t choose.

The first series is a trilogy by one of my favourite authors, Garth Nix.  He’s an Australian author and he writes sci-fi aimed at young adults.  But since I first read this trilogy when I was 11, I’m allowed to claim it as a favourite.  The trilogy is “the Old Kingdom Chronicles”, and it consists of “Sabriel”, “Lirael” and “Abhorsen” (there is also a book of short stories based in the same universe named “Across the Wall”. Perhaps a little dark for an 11 year old, the books are set in a world which is half “modern” technology (of maybe the 1940s or so? I’m a bit vague on the time period) and “across the wall”, where the world is firmly ensconced in magic, folk lore and superstition.  The main character in each book is the next in a line of good necromancers, whose task it is to put the Dead back to rest when they are called or they escape from Death back into the realm of Life and wreak havoc.  I just keep coming back to these books.  I think they at first appealed to me because the main characters were teenaged females who were strong, independent and smart.  I adored the fact that these young women could face the world alone, and kicked butt while doing so.

And I’m extra excited because right now, the author is working on a prequel.  I just love the intricacies of a world so different from and yet so the same as our own.  I love the lore, the depth of the characters and the stories.  But – as dark as they were for a kid – these books gave me a respite from the bullying I was facing and I think that’s a reason they hold a special place in my heart.

garth-nix old kingdom

 

The other series that I had to include is, of course, Harry Potter.  Another childrens’ series, but I couldn’t resist. I have read, re-read and read again these books until copies have fallen to pieces.  I don’t know what it is about this series, but since I’m one of many to read them again and again, I’m sure there’s a good reason!  I started reading the Harry Potter books when I was about 10, a few years after the first had been released and I remember being really annoyed with my Dad that he had bought me this stupid book (which I was convinced was for boys) instead of the one I had asked for.  Fast forward a few months and I had run out of books to read – yet again – and so I was forced (FORCED, I say) to read this book.  It wasn’t even the first one in the series, it was Chamber of Secrets.  But it was enough to get me hooked.  Kids like me, doing crazy things! With magic! What’s not to like?  As I matured, so did the books that were released, and I realised that the magic isn’t the main thing.  These books are about people, and society and they carry important social messages that are so important for everyone, especially kids.  I know for sure that my kids, when I have them one day, are going to grow up knowing Harry and his world.

harry potter books

 

Of course I don’t only read kids’ books – don’t be silly!  But those are the ones I keep coming back to in times when I need something comforting and familiar to read.  Other books come and go, and are read and read again.  I have a feeling these will keep coming back forever.

9 responses to “Daily Post Prompt: Second Time Around

  1. […] Daily Post Prompt: Second Time Around | Storm In A B-Cup […]

  2. […] Daily Post Prompt: Second Time Around | Storm In A B-Cup […]

  3. snosler says:

    What isn’t to love about Harry! 🙂

  4. Jeyna Grace says:

    Some kid’s books are worth the read…

  5. […] Daily Post Prompt: Second Time Around (storminabcup.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

