Storm In A B-Cup

Wall to Wall, or Alternatively, One of the Reasons Living in a Garage Sucks

on April 26, 2013

My husband and I live in my parents’ garage right now. It is a beautiful experience. Or not. Actually, it’s cramped, inconvenient, completely lacking in any form of privacy (one wall is all windows) and always too cold or too hot. BUT we are very grateful to my parents, since financially speaking we can either live here or on the street. So in that sense, we are very lucky.

There are many ways in which living in a garage is not the greatest. One of these is that my younger brother, who has Down Syndrome, is constantly at the door or the window wanting to be talked to or paid attention. And even if we ignore him or ask him to leave, he will literally stand there staring for hours. So there’s that. Another reason is that we can’t cook. We can’t wash our dishes since the “kitchenette” (I use that term loosely) has no sink. Neither of us can get a minute just to ourselves if we need it, and let’s face it, everyone needs a little time to themself occasionally.

Today’s Post a Day challenge asks what we display on the walls of our home. The short answer is, not much since the majority of walls are brick, or windows or covered by the squished in furniture. The wall in the kitchen has a notice board (cork board) and the spice rack T made for me. The one other spot we have is beside the TV and we have managed to use that to display some of our wedding photos in a nice frame. There’s a big spot in the middle which we still haven’t had time to have a 5×7 print made to fit, but I’m happy that we at least have something up of “us”. I love our wedding photos, the photographers were fantastic and I think they did an awesome job capturing us and our day (in fact I think I’ll do a post soon sharing some of my favourite wedding photos).

20130426-222158.jpg

Sorry about the iphone quality, my camera is out of commission at the moment! Oh, and the light reflection in the top right.

I just wanted to share the one thing I’m proud to have on my wall – what do you think I should put in the middle of the frame?

7 responses to “Wall to Wall, or Alternatively, One of the Reasons Living in a Garage Sucks

  1. sheila says:

    This looks so beautiful and nice !

  2. laislinns says:

    I love that frame filled with photos, and if I were you I’d put something either very simple or very personal in the middle of it. You either want it to be the centre of attention, or you want to make sure that it doesn’t detract attention from the photos around it.

  3. […] Wall to Wall, or Alternatively, One of the Reasons Living in a Garage Sucks | Storm In A B-Cup […]

  4. […] Wall to Wall, or Alternatively, One of the Reasons Living in a Garage Sucks | Storm In A B-Cup […]

  5. […] Wall to Wall, or Alternatively, One of the Reasons Living in a Garage Sucks | Storm In A B-Cup […]

  6. MythRider says:

    I like this. Shows love and a future to come.

  7. […] Wall to Wall, or Alternatively, One of the Reasons Living in a Garage Sucks | Storm In A B-Cup […]

Leave a Reply

