Storm In A B-Cup

Favourite Toys

on May 1, 2013

Apparently most kids have favourite toys or “lovies”.  I must have been a strange kid, because I’m pretty sure I never had a particular connection to any one toy in my childhood.  I remember my younger sister absolutely loved a few of her toys more than the others, and always gave them such creative names.  She always seemed to take a lot of comfort from her toys.  But me? My toys had such “creative” names as a dog named “doggy”, a teddy bear named “ted” (ironically, my husband’s name), a lizard named “lizzie”…I’m sure you get the gist.  I wasn’t the sort of kid to sleep with one toy in my arms (or even any in my bed), or be distressed if any of them broke.

Perhaps this has something to say for my mental health? Maybe I’m not normal?  But I always preferred people to toys.  And books.  If the NaBloPoMo prompt had asked the same question of books (the question was ‘did you have a favourite stuffed toy or lovey as a child?), I would have had a very different answer.  I loved my books, and would read every single day.  At my nanna’s house, there was always one book I would have her read, and at home I read a variety.  But I always knew if one was missing, or broken, or just not the same.  Maybe all of this speaks to the several years I spent as an only child and only grandchild on both sides of the family – there was always an adult willing to talk to me or read with me, so maybe I didn’t feel a need to form a particular connection with a single toy.  But nonetheless, the simplest answer to the prompt “did you have a favourite stuffed toy or lovey as a child? Tell us about it” is no.  I didn’t.  What a boring answer.

Maybe you have a more interesting answer.  What was your favourite toy as a child?  Why was it your favourite?

Thanks for visiting!!

Nat xx

Leave a Reply

