Storm In A B-Cup

Reflections on My Blog

on May 1, 2013

Today’s daily post prompt has prompted me (ha!) to start thinking about my blog, and what it really is.  It’s still a really new blog, and I don’t think I started it with any particular purpose in mind.  All I wanted to do with this blog was to start creating again, and to keep my mind active.  While I do that to some extent at uni, I find it a bit limited since I’m studying nursing.  So I suppose the main purpose of my blog is really for me, to document what I’m thinking about and to express myself.  It would be really nice – incredible, in fact – if people read and enjoyed my blog, but I am more interested in writing for myself.

I think that the idea that I’m writing for myself is pretty hard wired.  I find it very hard to believe that anyone else would read my writing, let alone enjoy it!  If it reaches one person, I’m more than happy.  Stoked, even (if I may borrow from my Aussie Slang post).  It’s a little surreal to sit here at my laptop writing, and then to publish it and know that it’s out there for anyone to see who may choose.

I have been finding inspiration for posts a bit difficult, and my ultimate dream (if you can call it a dream!!) is to have a blog that is kind of like some of the “mommy blogs” out there.  Of course, being that I’m not a mum, that’s kind of impossible at the moment.  And considering that the whole “mum” thing isn’t on the horizon for a few years yet, I think this blog will continue to consist of more randomness and responses to challenges and such than anything.  At least until I find a direction of my own.  I hope that the blog will evolve organically in one direction or another eventually.  I’m still in the first month, so I think it’s too early to really know.

If sticking to certain topics and types of posts meant my readership would triple my readership (as mentioned in the prompt), I don’t think I would do it.  At the moment, I’m enjoying exploring different ideas and even if I did have a “direction” that my blog was headed – that I knew of – I don’t think I’d like being limited like that.

What purpose does your blog serve for you?  Where do you see your blog heading?

Thanks for visiting!!

Nat xx

13 responses to “Reflections on My Blog

  1. […] Reflections on My Blog | Storm In A B-Cup […]

  2. […] Reflections on My Blog | Storm In A B-Cup […]

  3. […] Reflections on My Blog | Storm In A B-Cup […]

  4. Al says:

    Yes! I agree with you 🙂 Exploration is good. It allows our mind to wonder 🙂

    P.S I have the same theme as you 😉

    Keep on writing! It’s great!

  5. […] Reflections on My Blog | Storm In A B-Cup […]

  6. […] Reflections on My Blog | Storm In A B-Cup […]

  7. […] Reflections on My Blog | Storm In A B-Cup […]

  8. […] Reflections on My Blog | Storm In A B-Cup […]

  9. […] Reflections on My Blog | Storm In A B-Cup […]

Leave a Reply

