Storm In A B-Cup

Pillows vs Blankets

on May 3, 2013

Which would you prefer: a super-soft pillow or a warm, fuzzy blanket?

It’s a close call! But I have so many blankets with sentimental value that the blanket is definitely my choice.

The blanket my mum crocheted for me in my teens.

The blanket that came from my grandparents’ place.

The scratchy wool blanket that is a part of my earliest memory, a vague warm fuzzy feeling of a scratchy blanket pulled up around my ears in my cot as a toddler.

The blanket I’m making for T and I, that my dog tries to sleep on top of every time I work on it.

The picnic blanket that T and I used to stargaze on and eat our barbecued food at the beginning of our relationship at the lake that T ended up proposing at.

So many blankets have a type of special meaning in my life, whereas pillows are much more of a practical consideration.

Where do you fall in this debate? 

Thanks for visiting!!

Nat xx

PS. This post is in response to a NaBloPoMo prompt, check it out! Registration for NaBloPoMo May 2013 is open until May 5th, but if you miss out this time, it happens every month!  Why not join in?

3 responses to “Pillows vs Blankets

  1. I’m right there with you on the blankets over pillows. Although I LOVE squish pillows, blankets are awesome.
    My Mom both knit and crocheted me blankets; those are two of my favorites. And one of my first sewing projects was a really simple quilt. In other words, blankets have a sentimental value for me, too. 🙂

    • nat says:

      That’s awesome – I’d so love to learn to sew! Alas, I can barely make a straight line. Ah well, crochet and knitting will do me for now. Thanks for visiting 😀

  2. […] Pillows vs Blankets (storminabcup.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

