Storm In A B-Cup

The Liebster Blog Awards

on May 7, 2013

liebster-blog-award1

I am so flattered to be nominated for a Liebster Blog Award, and I would like to thank Amy at Chasing Dreams for the nomination.  I was so excited to see this lovely little surprise in my comments because I guess it means that someone out there is actually reading my blog!  I never thought I’d see the day! I still don’t fully believe it, I feel like I’m just writing for the sake of writing – and I am, but it is just the icing on the cake for me to know that someone is reading.  

The idea of the Leibster Award is to recognise cool blogs, and help us all link up with each other and form a community.  Here’s the rules for accepting a Liebster Award:

First you need to copy the Liebster Award picture, and put it in your post, acknowledge the person who nominated you, and link back to their blog. 

The Rules:

1. List 11 random facts about yourself

2. Nominate 11 other bloggers, and link to their blogs

3. Notify the bloggers of their nomination

4. Ask 11 questions for your nominees to answer

5. Answer the questions asked by the person who nominated you.

11 Random Facts About Me

1. I have been married to the love of my life and my best friend for a little over four months now

2. I am a huge fan of the Sims games (the Sims 4 has just been announced!)

3. I read a lot of sci fi and fantasy

4. I have just managed to kick a BIG diet coke addiction, and in the process am losing a bunch of weight!

5. I can’t sleep without a podcast or some type of noise going on – otherwise I get scared I’m going deaf.

6. I lose all depth perception in the dark, leading to T being terrified of my driving at night

7. One of my hobbies is crochet and I’m almost finished my first blanket

8. I’m studying to be a nurse, but really want to be a midwife (post graduate study, here I come!)

9. I can’t swim.  I’m an Aussie who grew up on the beach, but I can’t swim.

10. I secretly kind of love my retail job and I’m not sure if I’ll ever actually work in nursing

11. I own more clothes than I have space for, but almost none of them fit me 😦

Questions for My Nominees

1. How long have you been blogging for?

2. What other hobbies do you have outside of blogging?

3. If you could change one thing in your life, what would it be?

4. What would be your “final meal” of choice?

5. What is your favourite movie?

6. What is your biggest pet peeve?

7. When is your favourite time of year, and why?

8. What is the worst gift you have ever received (or been given)?

9. If you could say one thing to your 16 year old self, what would it be?

10. What is your earliest memory?

11. If you were writing your autobiography, what would it be called?

My 11 Questions from Amy, Answered.

1. Where’s your dream location?

One of the spots we went to on our honeymoon.  It is picture perfect.  Hamilton Island.  Just beautiful.

2. What 3 people (anybody past or present) would you invite for dinner if you could?

I would like to be boring, and say my great grandmother, who passed away last year and I never knew very well, my grandmother (on my father’s side) who passed when I was 10 and I think would have been an inspirational woman to know.  And Elvis.  Just, you know, so that I could say I had Elvis over for dinner.  

3. Who’s your idol?

Delta Goodrem.  Australian singer/songwriter, amazing pianist, all around fantastic person.  She’s come through some real hardship, and is just a lovely person in general (I met her at an album launch once and to all intents and purposes, she really is).  I would give almost anything to be just a little like her. 

4.What’s your favourite book?

Anything by Garth Nix.  Or the Harry Potter series.  I can’t choose just one.

5. What’s your dream job?

This might sound a little silly, but one day I want more than anything to be a stay at home mum.  Like, really. 

6. What’s your perfect date?

Take out and a movie on the couch with the hubby.  Or maybe a picnic under the stars. 

7. What’s the most romantic thing you’ve ever done/had done for you?

Personally, I made my husband (to be, at the time) a scrapbook all about us – pictures, memories, song lyrics, all sorts – for our first anniversary.  But I think the most romantic thing would be something he did for me.  When we were dating, I had to cancel one night because I was really sick. His car wasn’t working, and we lived about 40kms apart.  A few hours later (the actual timing is a bit fuzzy), he rocked up on my doorstep having ridden his bicycle all the way out (he isn’t exactly an athlete, and the roads between his place and mine were super dangerous highways and stuff without bike lanes) with a bouquet of flowers in a backpack.  The flowers were pretty squished, but the gesture was very romantic, and he looked after me all day.

8. What’s your guilty pleasure?

While I read a lot of sci fi and fantasy, my guilty pleasure is cheap chick lit and smutty romance. 

9. What’s your favourite food?

Anything chocolate will do me just fine!

10. What would you do first if you won $1000000?

(I changed the question to dollars, since I’m australian and also I couldn’t find the pound symbol on my keyboard).  First I would pay out all my debt.  I know, how boring.  And then I would buy a house.  Yes I’m boring, but I’m practical!

11. Where do you see yourself in 5 years time?

Out of nursing school, and finished midwifery training.  Working as a midwife, T and I owning a house and maybe (just maybe) a baby or two around.  Ok, maybe just one.  If we get around to it by then. 

My Nominees

I’m cheating a little on this one – I’ve decided to nominate just a few of my favourites rather than go hunting through.  These blogs are all awesome! 

Infinitely

rmw

Morgan Gets Fit

Crochet By Gray

Cursing and Crafting

princessbob

 

Thanks for visiting!!

Much love,

Nat xx

 

6 responses to “The Liebster Blog Awards

  1. amyrostron says:

    You’re very welcome! Great answers! I have been applying for midwifery 🙂 I didn’t get in last year so re applying this year! I’m with you in the guilty pleasures, sometimes you just can’t get beat an easy reading chick lit 😉

    • nat says:

      Midwifery is awesome, out here in Australia you can either do a Bachelor of Midwifery at uni (3 years) which qualifies you to just work as a midwife, but the preferred pathway is to do a Bachelor of Nursing (3 years, making you an RN at the end), do a New Graduate placement in a hospital for 12 months, then a 12 month Masters in Midwifery, which is combination university and on the job training. How does it work where you are?

  2. amyrostron says:

    Oh wow you’re over in Australia! How cool, I’ve never been, would love to though. It’s pretty similar by the sounds of it over here, you can do a 3 year Midwifery BSc (which is what I applied to), or you can do the Nursing degree first, followed by a year of studying Midwifery. The competition over here is ridiculous, at my chosen University there were over 800 applicants for only 60 places. Yet the country is crying out for midwives. I shall apply again in September with everything crossed. Are you studying Nursing or already a RN?

    • nat says:

      I’m studying nursing at the moment, I’m about halfway through. I’m kind of just persevering with it right now, some of the topics really aren’t my cup of tea!
      Good luck with your application!! It can be silly how hard they make it to get in to study things like midwifery and nursing (or teaching) when the professions are in such dire need of people.

  3. […] myself to get a nomination for a blog award, but here I am, accepting this nomination from Nat at Storm in a B-cup. Thank you for the nomination! I really appreciate this and I’m so glad you found my blog […]

Leave a Reply

