Storm In A B-Cup

The Forest or the Trees

on May 9, 2013

Today’s daily post prompt asks the question:

When you gaze out your window — real or figurative — do you see the forest first, or the trees?

 

I would like to think that I can appreciate both the big picture and the details in life.  I can appreciate the beauty of a grand landscape as much as a close up of a drop of dew on a twig.  I love the lushness of a full orchestra as much as a lone violin (or piano, or flute).  But to me the true beauty of life is in the details.  What is a person without their quirks and little mannerisms?  Would my husband be the same if he didn’t call me by twenty different pet names every day, each more outrageous than the last? Without his hair paranoia, and his collection of products? If he didn’t insist he was overheating every night, before stealing all of the covers in his sleep?  It’s the little things that make a person who they are, and I wouldn’t change a thing.

I love sitting down with a good piece of music and picking it to pieces.  Finding all the details that make it unique, and intriguing.  The motifs, modulations, and dynamic shifts.  Listening to different interpretations.  Anyone can pick up a piece of music and play it, and while it may be technically the same piece of music, it is never the same.  And I adore that.  It is the little things that make a piece of music your own, that make it speak of your own story – your own heartbreaks and triumphs, your own joy and pain.  It is the details in life that make our experiences unique.

I love taking my camera out (new at it though I am) and photographing a panoramic landscape, or a portrait.  But what I am really enjoying learning is focusing on the close ups.  That spiderweb gleaming in the sunlight.  The morning dew on a rose.  The sunlight dappled through branches of a tree.  I’m loving just being present with my camera.  Observing moments, and trying to capture the emotions as they pass through a person’s face.  They may be fleeting, but the best photos (though mine are mediocre at best right now!) are the ones that the person doesn’t know are being taken.

The big picture is great, but I want the details.  Because that’s what makes life worth living.

13 responses to “The Forest or the Trees

  1. nanuschka says:

    I totally agree, without the nitty-gritty details, there can’t be a big picture. Well written

  2. […] The Forest or the Trees | Storm In A B-Cup […]

  3. […] The Forest or the Trees | Storm In A B-Cup […]

  4. […] The Forest or the Trees | Storm In A B-Cup […]

  5. […] The Forest or the Trees | Storm In A B-Cup […]

  6. I tend to agree. It’s good to be able to see the big picture (especially if you are lost) but it’s the details that make life so fun and interesting
    Great post!!!!

  7. snosler says:

    Nicely said! Anyway, just stopping in to see what others wrote about for the prompt – Cheers!

  8. […] The Forest or the Trees | Storm In A B-Cup […]

  9. […] The Forest or the Trees | Storm In A B-Cup […]

Leave a Reply

