Storm In A B-Cup

Dear Mum (an open Mother’s day letter)

on May 13, 2013

Dear Mum,

Today it’s mother’s day (actually, yesterday was mother’s day here, but that’s a minor detail!), and since it’s also my birthday soon, and the first year I’m married, I thought I’d write you an open letter here to thank you for everything you’ve done for me.

You’re an amazing mother, the sort of mother I want to be some day.  You care for all four of your children, different (and spread around the globe) though we are.  You support all of us in whatever we want to do, even if that “what we want to do” doesn’t seem like the most sensible thing at the time.  You let us know that you don’t think it’s sensible, but then you support us through it.  Even if it goes wrong.  And yes, you told us so, but you’re still there for us.

You paid for ten years of piano lessons, and then when I wanted to quit a few weeks before my final exam, you said “fine”…and then threatened to make me pay you back for all of the lessons and the piano if I didn’t do it.  And I appreciate that.  I didn’t think I would at the time (but who does, at 16), but I ended up with a qualification that can take me anywhere and a passion for music that I wouldn’t have if it wasn’t for you.

I know you and Dad struggled financially for a long time, but none of us kids ever knew it.  We never wanted for anything, even if it meant that Dad was eating baked bean sandwiches every day for lunch at work, and the dogs ate baked beans too because they were cheaper than dog food.  I thank you for putting us first, and for always providing us with everything we needed – and usually most things we wanted! – even though the going was tough.

Thankyou for putting up with taxi-ing me around for so many years to piano lessons and exams and band practices and dance lessons and musical theatre rehearsals and then for coming to the shows and volunteering to help out at front of house or backstage or in the “cafe” at intermission.  Thankyou for making me believe in myself.

And now, more than ever, thankyou for giving T and I a soft place to fall when money got bad for us.  Thankyou for being there even though you told us that if we weren’t careful with the debt this exact thing would happen.

Thankyou for helping so much with our wedding, and for supporting us in getting married, when many didn’t because they thought we were too young (we weren’t).

But most of all, thankyou for always being there.  Thankyou for being the best mum a girl could ask for.  Thankyou for teaching me to crochet, but not teaching me to cook (I’ve enjoyed figuring that out all on my own!).  Thankyou for being a super mum who even after almost 24 years is still a full time mum (who works almost full time) to all of us, but especially D (for anyone reading who isn’t mum, which – let’s face it – is anyone who is reading this, since mum doesn’t know of this blog, D has Down Syndrome and will live with mum and dad for the forseeable future).

So for everything, and then for everything else I’ve forgotten, thankyou.  From the bottom of my heart, thankyou.

I love you, mum.

Love, Nat xx

My whole family (minus one brother who was a groomsman, so was getting ready with T)

My whole family (minus one brother who was a groomsman, so was getting ready with T)

DSCN0873

 

3 responses to “Dear Mum (an open Mother’s day letter)

  1. TammyeHoney says:

    What a great article written from the heart. Thank you so much for sharing with your readers.

  2. nanuschka says:

    Wow, you truly are blessed!

  3. […] Dear Mum (an open Mother’s day letter) | Storm In A B-Cup […]

Leave a Reply

