Storm In A B-Cup

Things You Should Not Say To A Woman In Labour #1

on July 5, 2013

Today I’m starting a new series, inspired by an experience in the delivery room at the hospital today.  As a student nurse in the maternity unit I’m experiencing a lot of new things at the moment, and one of them is the crazy things that male support people – usually boyfriends/fiances/husbands – at a birth will say to the mother.  They seem to think in the moment that these things are supportive, but in actual fact they come out anything but.

Today’s top comment was:

“I’m glad that’s you up there and not me”

Really? Now, I thought most guys would be smart enough to keep that sentiment to themselves when their partner is going through some of the worst pain of her life.  But perhaps not, since this gentlemen also thought it appropriate to later add

“You are so lucky that you have a catheter.  I wish I had a catheter because I don’t feel like getting up to pee”.

Oh yeah.  That’s right.  He said this from across the room in a recliner which he was lying on while his partner was having a contraction.  Yup.  I thought that was a smart decision too.  Not.

Of course to top it all off he added as she was pushing the baby’s head out

“This will all be easier next time we have a baby”.

Just what every first time mother wants to hear: she might have to experience the worst pain of her life ALL OVER AGAIN.

Of course, his heart was in the right place. It really was, and he adores his partner and his new son.  His comments were just misguided at best.

What do you think is the worst thing your partner could say in the delivery room?

One response to “Things You Should Not Say To A Woman In Labour #1

  1. TammyeHoney says:

    Now i realize why a friend of mine called me in the middle of the night to join her in the hospital. Her hubby was very quiet while I coached her and he cried during the delivery. (Happy tears) but still was cautious to say very litttle. She grabbed me as she was delivering and said “You will be here for my next child too.” lol

Leave a Reply

